That time of year again…

It’s October. Nearly halfway through, in fact. And I know from experience that I write better in November if I’ve planned thoroughly beforehand.

So, am I doing Nano this year?

I’m currently without my laptop, as it’s been away for repair for over three weeks. The good news is that they’ve said that as it’s taken so long I’m entitled to a new one instead, so I’m waiting for a voucher to spend to get a new laptop. It would be incredibly difficult to complete nano without a laptop to sit with in the evenings and to take to meetups.

But once I get my new one, there’s that excuse removed.

So what are the pros and cons?

Pros:

Every time I do nano, the end product is a little cleaner than the previous year’s work. My writing improves under the consistent practice. I remember, again, how much I enjoy writing. I have a real sense of achievement. I enjoy joining in with other writers, comparing word count, creating worlds, completely losing myself in the process. I end up with a novel that’s ready for editing and polishing.

Cons:

I already have several novels at different stages of completion and they need focus in order to get finished. (But nano helps to build up a momentum and enthusiasm). I don’t have the time (but I have plenty of time for playing solitaire, or reading books). It’s hard work.

So is that it? Am I just work-shy? Or am I afraid to succeed?

I guess I’ll be spending the next week or so deciding on a project (there are one or two contenders, and I’m sure I can come up with something I want to spend a month on). And then I’ll be planning to spend my spare time in November putting that world into words.

After all, it’s only for a month, right?

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I had to laugh at the way you kept explaining away your cons! I have the same problem regarding having several novels that are drafted but still need work. But because of that, it often means that my normal writing work ends up being nothing but revision, and NaNo gives me that chance to write a fresh story again and rediscover the joy.

    I think that by the end you were stating that you were participating this year, yes? If so, good luck on your NaNo!

    Reply
    • Yeah, exactly. It’s that rediscovering the joy, as you say. And yes, I probably will do it this year. I’m getting a new laptop at the weekend, so that excuse is sorted. And I found a load of ideas in my writing folder, so I’m sure I can work something out over the next week or two.
      Good luck to you too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

