The agony of creation

It’s nanowrimo tomorrow. While I try to keep my writing up through the year, it can be a struggle at times. I’ve been working on my 2014 nano project, Gods V Heroes, and lately some work on my 2015 novel, Abandoned, has also crept in. But at this point of the year I start considering a new project, and that reminds me of the excitement of writing, as opposed to editing/rewriting.

As a result, my enthusiasm has reawakened, not just for the new project, but for all my older projects – yes, even the babies one that has yet to receive a title.

Please remind me of this – it’s so stupid that I let this excitement die away during the rest of the year. It’s really a case that if I open my mind to the ideas, they’ll flood me out, and if I don’t start picking up on them and getting going, then they’ll create a logjam and nothing will get done.

game-of-life-2My new project is entitled Game of Life, and I even have a proper cover design for it. The first part has existed in my head for a long time, and I’m excited to be able to put it into proper words. The second part is nowhere near as clear, but hopefully it will emerge from the shadows as the first part is pinned down.

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. That cover is beautiful. Did you find it inspiring?

    Reply
  2. I did, but sadly I discovered that that particular story isn’t well enough developed to put into words yet, so I abandoned it about 11k words in and switched to another project. It’s not that I’ve given up, though, it’s that the idea hasn’t yet gelled into a complete story. So I have one decent cover for an unwritten novel and no proper covers for the three that are further along.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

