X is for (e)Xpert

Posted as part of the A-Z challenge. With a slight cheat because I couldn’t come up with any meaningful comments about a xylophone.

Are you expert in anything? I’ve always wanted to be an expert, but somehow I seem to know a bit about a lot of things but not everything about any one thing.

But you know what? That’s not such a bad thing. Yes, it’s good to know a single subject in depth, but sometimes, it’s important to see the links between subjects; to be able to combine two or more subjects and find something new.

As a writer, I can call on all sorts of topics and meld them. As an editor, I have a good general awareness, whatever the subject matter. I’m not just stuck with one tool to use; I can select from a range of tools, and consider their relative merits.

So while I’d still really like to be a complete expert in one area, until one jumps out at me as the one I really, really need to become expert in, I’ll remain jack of all trades and master of none. Or maybe I’ll just call myself a general expert. Do you think that would work?

 

 

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. darlamsands

     /  April 29, 2015

    I like your attitude. As for me, I never decided what I wanted to be when I grew up and I’m middle aged. But my dad says that’s okay. ~grin~ For the letter X I wrote about xeriscaping at http://darlamsands.blogspot.com/ during this A to Z blog challenge. Today I am number 1179 on the list. Looks like lots of participants continue dropping off, unfortunately.

    Reply
    • Thanks for dropping by! I’m going to have to go find out what xeriscaping is now. I must say that it’s probably the last year I’ll do this challenge, as I’m having to use a spreadsheet this year to keep track on what words I’ve already used (this is my third year of the challenge).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

