P is for perseverance

Posted as part of the A-Z challenge.

“persistence in doing something despite difficulty or delay in achieving success” is the dictionary definition of perseverance. It’s easy to keep going when it’s going well. It’s harder to keep pushing forward through difficulties, but that’s where the successes are really made.

I’m currently watching the highlights of the Brighton marathon. If those runners stopped when things got hard they’d never make it to the end. I know that; I did a half marathon a few weeks ago, and there were training sessions where I really struggled. Further back, I remember when covering 5k in a combination of walking and running left me lying on the sofa for the rest of the weekend.

But somehow I kept going, and I’m thinking of pushing myself further and harder, because I recognise the strength it’s developing in me – and I’m not just talking about my legs and heart!

It’s the same with my writing. Writing a novel is hard work, and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. It’s easy to give up and decide it’s not worth it. But if you decide it is, then you need to keep pushing forward, dealing with any issues that arise, and keep your eye on that finish line – and even further ahead, because you can’t just stop. Not when you’ve run a race; not when you’ve published a novel. Because there’s another one ahead, and another, and each one provides another opportunity to push and grow and develop.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

