L is for learning

Posted as part of the a-z challenge.

When we’re at school we’re expected to learn. When we leave school, that shouldn’t stop.

There are so many opportunities these days to learn whatever we fancy. I used to work in adult education, teaching maths and English to students who struggled to get the grades at school, or who were disillusioned with school, or found it a struggle, or missed out through one way or another – a wide variety of people with a wide variety of abilities, but all seeking to learn.

I’m still learning in my job, and I expect to continue learning until the day I die. There is so much out there to know and understand. And we’re not limited to finding a book about it or looking for a class locally. There’s been an explosion of online learning sites, many offering free courses or courses for a small fee.

I’m learning as I write – the more I write, the more I discover ways that work and ways that don’t work.

I’m learning as I run – this morning I learned that trying for a long run after a late night and a bacon and egg sandwich breakfast is not the best idea in the world!

I’m learning as I teach – part of the skill of a teacher is to be able to pick up new topics, digest them, understand them and then help their students to learn them as well.

What do you most want to learn?

How do you learn best?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I love this post. I used to work in adult education, teaching kids in the afternoon and adults in the evening. I also take classes and workshops whenever I get a chance. These days most are related to writing and editing but I do take Astrology as well.
    #Blogging from A-Z 2015 this year two themes Movies and What’s in a name
    4covert2overt ~ A PLACE IN THE SPOTLIGHT http://4covert2overt.blogspot.com/
    DEFINING WAYS http://mariacatalinaegan.com/
    ⋱ ⋮ ⋰.,;***;,.⋱ ⋮ ⋰
    ⋯¤♥¤⋯.(^_^)⋯¤♥¤⋯
    ⋰ ⋮ ⋱…_/l\_…⋰ ⋮ ⋱
    ♫ ƤҼƌҪҼ ƌƝƊ ĻƠṼҼ ॐ βԼƐֆֆїɳɠֆ ƌƝƊ βԼїֆֆ ♫

    Reply

Leave a Reply

