T is for today

Getting close to the end of the alphabet now – I don’t know why, but I always think T is it, it’s all downhill from there.

There are so many alternatives for T, and they’re all related. Time is important. Tomorrow is always tempting. But it needs to be today.

I still remember one line from a book I read as a young child: “It’s always tomorrow, and tomorrow never comes.” It took me a while to understand it, but it’s that idea that there’s always another excuse, always some reason why the time isn’t right.

Well the fact is that if you wait for the time to be right you could be waiting forever. The only thing to do is to declare that the time is now, today, not tomorrow, or next week, or when you leave school, or start work, or have a holiday, or retire.

I wrote a short story last night. I intend to do more writing tonight. There’s work I need to do, and other work that I’d like to do, but one blog I found during this year’s challenge posed the thought that creativity is a need, just as food is a need. It’s true that when I allow myself time to be creative I feel better, but I still tend to think of it as an indulgence, rather than something I need to do.

One thing that made me sad a few years ago was what happened when a group of us wrote our own book between us by sending a notebook around the world. Each person had to put down four New Year’s Resolutions, one as an indulgence, one as pushing our comfort zone, one to do something¬†for someone else and one to learn something, I believe – I tried to find the log for the book, but couldn’t. The book travelled round again at the end of the year, when everyone updated it, and almost without exception people recorded that they hadn’t completed the resolution to indulge themselves because they hadn’t done one of the others, as though they didn’t deserve to indulge themselves unless they had paid for it in some way. Why are we so bad at treating ourselves well?

So it’s time now to stop procrastinating, stop finding excuses and start being creative – today, not tomorrow.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. This is a great reminder that we need to indulge ourselves every now and then, and not just as a reward for having done our important things. Sometimes that indulgence gives us the strength, the energy, and the desire to go back and finish those important things that are undone.

    TaMara
    One of AJ’s AtoZ wHooligans
    Tales of a Pee Dee Mama

    Reply

Leave a Reply

