Q is for quick

The a-z challenge continues… it’s always tempting to look for the quick fix. To resent spending too much time on something. To constantly move on to the next thing, before boredom sets in.

But very little in life can be done in a short time. Most really worthwhile things have to be worked on, and developed over time.

The problem with the allotment at the moment is that the ground where I’m digging is very hard, so digging is a slow, hard effort, and I’m getting nowhere fast. I’ve put in loads of seeds and a few plants, but I have to be patient and wait for them to grow. I want it all NOW, but even the quickest of plants takes weeks to grow.

With my writing, I need to put in time figuring out who everyone is, how the story goes, the best way to present it – then I need to actually put words down, and I need to edit it. Then it will need to be read by others, to get their feedback, which will need to be dealt with. Nothing about that is quick.

So it’s no good getting impatient and not settling because it takes too long – I need to accept that quick and good very rarely meet and be prepared for the long haul.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I know what you mean about wanting a quick fix sometimes. Sometimes, particularly with writing, a quick fix can give you a temporary solution (like how to get around a plot hole) but it’s just like a plaster and you’ll need to go back and fix it properly later.

    Visiting through the A to Z Challenge.

    Reply
    • Exactly – a quick fix usually isn’t worth the time. Slower gets better results.
      Thanks for visiting!

      Reply
  2. “I need to accept that quick and good very rarely meet and be prepared for the long haul.” Very wise! I need to remember that too. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Quick and good rarely meet…. but some things don’t deserve much more time. The key is to figure out which does and doesn’t!

    Thanks for a good post.
    Beth
    bethlapinsatozblog.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

