M is for money

I have to admit, money is something that’s on my mind a lot these days. A year ago, I took the decision to give up a steady income because I decided I valued my self-respect and mental health better. For the past few months I’ve been working on building up my own business offering educational and publishing services.

It’s been going okay. It’s had its ups and downs. I knew it would be tough to start with, but right now I’m locked into a couple of things that will pay but in the long run not immediately, limiting my ability to earn money for right now, and I hate having to ask for money.

So things like a fence round the allotment have to take a low priority, and I’m slowly working through my savings and celebrating every invoice I send off. I need to work on marketing, but until I get this current project sent off I don’t have time to take on anything else anyway.

So I guess I’ll continue to work, and things will continue building up, until I reach a more comfortable level. And in the meantime I’ll continue reminding myself that money isn’t everything.

Anyone need an editor/proofreader? One who’s happy to work with all sorts of writing projects, fiction or non-fiction?

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I realized how little I could lived with when it became a trade off for my mental and physical health and peace. Good for you. Good luck and I’ll keep you in mind.
    Sydney Aaliyah Michelle
    2014 A to Z Challenge
    Nicole’s #atozchallenge Mighty Minion

    Reply
  2. Good luck! It’s a bold step! My understanding is the first 2 years of a start-up like yours are really scary, but it does get better. I hope that works true for you too.

    Reply
  3. I also gave up my steady job for my mental health. I am now pursuing a Ph.D. studying something I love. Unfortunately, I have yet to get funding. I think it’s important to do something good for you, something you can be proud of. Good luck with your business, don’t give up!

    Reply
  4. It takes such courage to lead the life we want to lead. Best wishes for the greatest success .#AtoZchallenge ☮Peace ☮ ღ ONE ℒℴνℯ ღ ☼ Light ☼ visiting from http://4covert2overt.blogspot.com/

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.