G is for gap

ira-glass-quoteThis is a sign I have above my desk (click to enlarge and read). It talks about the gap between what you achieve and what you feel is good; that the fact the gap exists simply means that you can recognise what is good, and if you keep working at it you will be able to close that gap and create work you can feel proud of.

That gap is what’s causing a lot of my problems at the moment. I know what I want to create, and I know what I’m capable of, and I see a big gap between them. In my work I’m becoming more and more aware of the continuum of writing standards, and it’s becoming more and more clear that even being able to write a full story is only the beginning of the journey.

I came across a load of my old writing and planning over the weekend. It always seems that just as I become resigned to the fact that I’m not a writer I find something that proves it’s worth pushing on. The trouble is, I’m good at coming up with ideas and bad at seeing them through.

I’ve got to the point with my exercising that getting up and going for a run and swim or cycle and swim is part of my routine, and it would feel very strange not to do it, more effort to break the habit than to follow it. That’s the point I need to reach with writing; the point where the routine is so deeply embedded into my life that it feels wrong not to do it; the point where I write for my own pleasure, not for any external reason.

That’s the only way I’m going to do enough writing to cross the gap.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. I can relate to this. I don’t think it applies only to creative pursuits though. I do research and I know I can present findings that are worth while, I think I may be on to something good, but it’s not good enough or where I want it yet. Have to close that gap. It’s sometimes hard to figure out how to close that gap.

    Reply
  2. I’d say you were a step ahead of me. You have ideas to write about. Your creative juices are flowing.
    I’m at the other end. My creative well is dry. Give me a topic, I will write. I crave inspiration.

    Reply
    • I can write about all sorts of things, but ask me to write fiction and I hit a wall.
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  3. I feel the same way sometimes and I always find lists and plans from months ago. I read somewhere once that fear and doubt keep us from crossing that gap until we realize that fear and doubt are made up of energy just like faith and confidence.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

