and breathe…

I attended a mega write-in today, known as the day of writing dangerously. We started at just after 8.30, and by 11 there were 14 of us around a huge table in a hotel conference room, with coffee and tea on tap, a genie button to press if we needed anything and lots of sweets and chocolate.

Numbers were taken down, sprints took place and coffee was drunk. At noon we stopped for a buffet lunch and a natter, then back to the keyboards.

During the afternoon there were around three of us who hit the 50k mark, amidst much celebration, and by the time we stopped counting, at around 5pm, we had collectively written well over a nano’s worth of words. Prices, badges and stickers were given out, sweets were eaten and more tea/coffee was drunk, of course.

I finished the day on a massive 53,010 words, having written around 9419 words during the day (most of which were fairly rubbish by the end, I have to admit) and I’m now in a position to go back through and figure out which sections I can use as is, which are needed but have a lot of continuity problems and which need to be completely rewritten or replanned.

I think I’ll probably go back to the timeline first, and make sure I know the structure is completely sound and matches with the new version of the plotline. That way, I can make sure I know how old the children are in each scene, for example. I’ll also make heavy use of the notes and synopsis features of Scrivener to help me organise things.

But tonight – tonight I get an evening off writing. Although it’s tempting to try and make it a 10k day…

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Congrats on crossing the finish line! 9400+ words. That’s impressive.

    Reply
  2. Wow! What a day! I was proud to finish with just over 50,000 (the exact count varying depending on which counter you use! Ha!). Here’s cause for more celebrating: I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award! Thank you for always posting; I love reading your blog!

    Reply
  3. Congratulations!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

