Around the halfway mark

It’s not quite halfway through November, and I’m just over halfway through the nanowrimo challenge (27k out of 50k).

I still have a long way to go; the 50k isn’t my finishing post. And then the editing starts.

Am I sorry I started this? Actually, no. In previous years, I might have been sorry. The last time I tried nano, a couple of years ago, I was incredibly grateful when I fell far enough behind to decide there was no way I could continue and gave up.

This year, though, something is different. I’m involved with the Kent nano facebook group and the nano regional forum. I’ve attended meet-ins and have a couple of all-day writing sessions planned.

It’s great fun to go out to a coffee shop or somewhere and meet strangers who are really friends you’ve been chatting with and sharing ideas with and just haven’t met in person yet. To sit around tables with coffee and laptops, and to talk and write.

Our region is one of the most productive regions in the country, with collectively over 5 million words written. That puts us well up in the world and top in the country! I’m sure that’s due in part to the fact that nearly every day there’s a write-in somewhere in the county, and sometimes more than one, in different areas. Some are organised by one or more of the three MLs (Municipal Leaders), and others organised on a casual basis by individual members. Either online or in person, we can share plots, pleasures, panics and pains. Some people have already crossed the 50k mark and are still going strong. Others are behind on the scheduled word count but still finding pleasure in what they have managed to write. Whichever end of the scale, the rest are there to cheer them on.

So I’m still going strong, ignoring any doubts my inner editor might throw my way, because I still want to be part of this community. I’m attending two full-day write-ins over the next couple of weeks, plus one or two shorter meetups. And I’m really enjoying the journey. And I’d like to say a big thanks to all of the Kent nano group, especially the MLs, for providing some of the mental energy to keep me going.

 

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Awwwww, what a lovely post honey đŸ™‚

    You are VERY welcome! So glad to hear you’re enjoying it…see you at a Write In soon!

    xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

