Waking up

A couple of hours after my first ever 10k race, I woke up in the night. I stood up, holding onto the bed for balance as I groped for my slippers in the dark, and then carefully made my way towards the door, heading for the bathroom. I could feel my legs creaking, an after-effect of all that exercise.

I opened the bedroom door – right outside on the landing were my three sons, all wearing pajamas and dressing gowns. standing in a line, as though queuing for the door. The youngest, in front, had his arm raised, hand ready to knock. They made me jump, standing there like that, but I shook it off, wondering what the urgency was to have them all there ready to summon us. Then I noticed that all their eyes were staring blankly forward, showing no sign of any reaction to me. One by one they started toppling forward, and I staggered under their weight…

And woke up. And held onto the bed for balance as I groped for my slippers in the dark, and then carefully made my creaky way towards the door, holding my breath as I grasped the handle, almost afraid of what I would see there…

This is in response to a challenge via The View Outside. This really happened to me the other night, and it took me a long time to shake off the feeling of fear it brought.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Oooooo, that’s creepy!

    Xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

