My first Insecure Writers Support Group Post

As I understand it, the idea of the IWSG is to post on the first Wednesday of every month your honest experiences with your writing, to share the triumphs and admit to the defeats, and then to support others who are doing the same thing.

So where am I in my writing life?

Research for my non-fiction history project is going well; I spend one morning a week in the archives researching with the aid of the old documents, and during the rest of the week I’m spending some time tracing family trees or reading generally about workhouses. (AHEM! READING GENERALLY! YOU’VE SAID IT, NOW GET ON WITH IT! YES BOSS).

I have what I believe is a sound idea for a computing textbook for schools, which I’ve made a start on but need to get back to.

That’s two projects on the go. Both non-fiction.
I had a crisis of confidence over the past week, thinking that there are so many writers out there already, the world doesn’t need someone else adding to the pile and there aren’t enough readers to go round as it is.Oh dear! So why does my brain keep insisting it wants to write fiction? Haven’t I got enough to do already?

This week I’ve faced up to that and said that I can still write for my own enjoyment, whether it’s anything that gets published or not. I have started to map out a fiction fantasy novel, probably YA type, but possibly bleeding over into adult (I believe this YA is a myth anyway; most prolific readers I know will read anything, children/adult/teen/YA labels notwithstanding.

My problem is that I’m trying to invent a whole new fantasy world, to mix in with the real world, and my imagination doesn’t work that way. Give me a situation or idea and I can spin half a dozen stories/themes/variations off it before you can blink, but give me a blank sheet and my mind will imitate it faithfully.

I’ve decided that although planning is important, I can spend various spare moments in the day brooding on my plot, and need to make sure I do. My main writing priority though needs to be practice, so I’m going to drag down one of the many writing books I’ve got on my bookshelf, pick some writing exercises, probably about creating worlds or characters, and start having a go, on the principle that I have a lot of crap to get through before I find the good stuff so the sooner I start, the better.

How about you?

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. first, welcome to the IWSG family. second, it’s nice to meet another fantasy writer. and yes, inventing a new world with elements of this world isn’t easy, but it’s worth it. i wish you all the best as you pursue fiction. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. There can never be enough writers as long as the world is chalk full of readers. Welcome to IWSG, Emmy. Nice to meet you.

    Reply
  3. Welcome to IWSG honey πŸ™‚

    The most important thing I’ve realised recently is that it’s not a race….I need to be like the tortoise and enjoy the scenery πŸ˜‰

    Good luck!

    Xx

    Reply
  4. It feels great to vent and share your insecurities, doesn’t it? I think the world can always do with more writers, as each has his or her unique way of telling a story. I write fantasy and always write from a fictional world point of view. Best of luck to you and thank you so much for visiting my blog today.

    Reply
    • Thank you for visiting back, and yes it’s been an amazing experience. I wonder sometimes if there will be too many writers and not enough readers, but I guess most writers read a lot as well.

      Reply
  5. Welcome to the group! I plan all the time, but have found my best writing comes at the strangest times.

    Meredith
    Meredith’s Musings

    Reply
    • Thank you! I’ve had fun creating on the fly – nanowrimo forces the point – but I enjoy stories best if the plot is strong, so I figured that’s probably the best way to write.
      Thanks for dropping by πŸ™‚

      Reply
  6. I don’t think there will ever be enough writers. πŸ˜€

    As for your world building. It’s a good idea to spend a bit of time pondering what your story will be. Take it from someone who wrote a YA fantasy. πŸ˜€

    Reply
    • You reckon? But are there enough readers? πŸ˜‰
      Cheers – any tips on creating a world? How do you do it, do you create the whole world from the start or does it sort of unfold?
      Thanks for dropping by πŸ™‚

      Reply
  7. Agreed. Prep work beforehand saves editing time later.

    Welcome to the group! πŸ™‚
    August co-host and IWSG #110

    Reply
  8. I write science fiction and world building is difficult for me as well. Do it in layers. Get your basic plot on paper and then take one aspect and work on that. (Culture, food, geology, politics, etc.) And it’s all right to borrow ideas from real life. Don’t let it overwhelm you.
    And welcome to the IWSG!

    Reply
    • Hiya, thanks for dropping by, and that sounds like good advice. I guess that way the world can be as detailed as it needs to be, rather than the simplistic one I tend to come up with if I try to do it all at once.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

