Ever forward

Well I went last night, and met the writers’ group – talked too little and then too much, as usual when I meet new people, but had an interesting time talking about different projects.

Now I really need to knuckle down and get on with my own projects. I know roughly what the opening needs to achieve, so now I need to get into specific imaging of the scene. I also need to figure out more points in the story arc so that I have a rough roadmap and can start figuring out what scenes need to go in. I’m hoping that this way I’ve got a structure to hang the story on and the actual writing will go more smoothly.

I’m not sure if I can get as far as breaking it into chapters yet, but should be able to expand on at least some areas of the plot in more detail, so that rather than “They learn xxxx and so they know they have to xxxxx” I can get into the specific adventure/incident that helps them to learn xxxxx.

I missed my 1000 a day yesterday, and it’s surprising how guilty I feel. I’m not going to let myself off the hook, either – I should feel guilty. There was plenty else going on, but there would have been time to fit 1000 words in. Maybe today I’ll aim for two lots, as well as the plotting work.

I’m currently working from a book called Plot and Structure (Write Great Fiction series) by James Scott Bell, and I find it interesting to apply what I read in there not only to my own planning but to books I’m reading and programmes I’m watching, to see if I can identify the plot turning points. Generally I can.

So I’m off for a run, and then I’ll get going on beta reading projects in hand and my own writing. And I’ll be putting music on instead of TV programmes and ignoring facebook etc for at least an hour at a time. I really need to become properly disciplined.

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

