Plotting and planning

Right, it’s come down to this. I’m going to get my novel written. Well, the first of my novels πŸ˜‰

It’s time to put up or shut up. I’ve got plenty of time for writing, plenty of reference books to turn to for advice, and stories in my head wanting to be told.

I’ve tried seat-of-the-pants writing, but really I prefer to have a good sense of where the story is going first, so I’m working out a detailed plot. I know roughly the story arc I want, but there are many details still to be filled in and others that probably won’t show up until I start actually writing.

I’m trying to flesh out the plot, so rather than “something happens that makes him feel bad” I get down to more specific things. This is proving tricky, but not insurmountable as long as I get on with things rather than allowing myself to be distracted by facebook, ipad games etc.

When I was re-reading some of my old stuff the other day, I decided that all this ambivalence is stupid. I CAN write. I CAN complete something worth publishing. I’m just as capable as the many others I see doing the same thing – the only thing holding me back is me.

I’ve joined the Insecure Writers Support Group (thanks Vikki!) and now I need to develop a WIP in order to have something to agonise over. The time for discussion is past – it’s time to Write!

I’m even trying to find a local writing group to join, one that will help me to develop and mature my writing, even as I help others to develop theirs. I’ll let you know how I get on with that if and when it happens. Meantime, there’s plenty of support on the web, I guess. And all the support in the world can’t help me one jot if I don’t actually Write!

So, I’ve bought a fancy ring binder for all my writing work, to keep it all in one physical place, and I’m off to do today’s 1000 words a day.

Wish me luck!

 

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. If you fancy a writing session, just shout πŸ™‚

    Xx

    Reply
    • Anytime! Just give me a week or so to have something to actually write πŸ™‚ The idea of sitting in a cafe somewhere with a coffee and a laptop is quite pleasant. No wifi means no facebook/email distractions. Apart from my phone. And any other excuse I can find…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

