The end of the ride

flowersThe last three years have been one hell of a ride – lots of real highs and tough lows. During those three years I’ve met some wonderful people and some who were tough to deal with, and worked outside the house full time for the first time in over 20 years. I have found myself challenged in every way, and learned a lot about myself, about people and about education in general.

Now it’s time to move on.

Sadly over the past year there have been few highs and far too many lows, with what I believe I can honestly say has been the hardest and most stressful year of my life so far. This isn’t the way I expected things to work out, but at least I can say I gave it a good go, and so I consider the time well spent. I now know what teaching at secondary level involves, and I’m full of admiration for those who stick it out. Believe me, they earn every moment of those long holidays!

I don’t rule out going back into the classroom at some point – never rule anything out completely – but for the foreseeable future at least I’ll be looking to work from home, offering private tutoring, educational support and publishing support services via my website, http://www.coinlea.co.uk.

Now the next thing I need to do is to apply lessons learned to my writing – that if you get started and it doesn’t work out, then at least you’ve tried it and you have a chance to figure out why it doesn’t work, and to consider your next move, not to mention many valuable lessons learned on the way. If you never try, you’ll never know if it would have worked or not, and you’ll always just sit there thinking and doing nothing else, and that, truly, is time wasted.

By this time next year, I intend to be writing about the publication of my first non-fiction book (probably the workhouse book, although I’m not ruling out a computing textbook as well) and my first fiction book (possibly a novel based on the workhouse research, possibly a Young Adult idea I’m currently brewing up). It’s time that I stopped thinking “I wonder if…” and change it to “And now I know…”.

Thanks to colleagues for the cards, flowers and gifts.

 

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. A new part of your life honey 🙂

    Xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

