T is for Time

alarm clockWe’re all concerned about time. Have I got enough time? What time is it? It’s time I did…

We waste time. We spend time. We pass time. Do we ever value it?

When I was at school, many years ago, some lessons I found so dull that I would divide a piece of paper into squares, one for each minute of the lesson, and colour them in as the lesson progressed – kind of my own advent calendar. If I coloured a square slowly enough it would take the whole minute to do it. Of course, it made time drag even more.

Why does time move so fast when we’re involved and enjoying ourselves, and so slow when we don’t enjoy what we’re doing?

Is time travel possible? We travel forward through time all the time; we move faster by sleeping. We travel backward by visiting old memories, but it is impossible to change the past.

How do we allot our time? Do we budget it, and decide just how long we’re going to spend on work, how much on family, how much on entertainment? Or do we just spend it as we think we need to, without making any effort to control that spending?

This month I’ve made a point to set aside enough time to write an entry in this blog every day, and also to write longhand morning pages every morning. I find my life feels richer for it. I’ve also made a point to make time to go running at least every two or three days. I feel the time used that way is paid back in full with fitness and energy.

On the other hand, I’ve also wasted far too much time on pointless activities, and I’m trying to stop doing that and ensure that my time is spent wisely and productively as far as possible.

Of course, we all need some down-time now and again. Can you imagine what our lives and lifestyles would be like if we didn’t have to stop and sleep for a few hours every day?

 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I know I used to get waaaaaaay more done and made better use of my time before the internet, esp. Facebook!

    Reply
  2. I sometimes wish i didn’t have to sleep, but then again….. 😉

    xx

    Reply
  3. Hello, Emmy! Sometimes when I know I have lots of time, I end up wasting so much of it. It just goes by so fast!

    Happy A to Z-ing! from Laura Marcella @ Wavy Lines

    Reply
  4. We all travel through time, at the rate of 24 hours per day. That’s more time travel than I can handle, actually. But it happens, without giving any thought to my feelings.

    And you’re giving yourself the run-around now, every two or three days. I have enough people doing that; why impose more of it on myself? But you have fun; go run your heart out. I wouldn’t suggest you stop.

    Blessings and Bear hugs!
    Bears Noting

    Reply
  5. A wonderful read! I remember one English teacher who gave us two days for our papers. The short-term exercises ended with the same question asked, “Thinking back, do you see the time you lost?”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

