So what have I learned so far?

We’re more than halfway through the challenge so far; the last letter posted was R yesterday. Today being Sunday, there’s no scheduled A-Z challenge post, so I thought I’d take the opportunity to look back.

Thousands of people signed up for the challenge; I’ve taken a look at a few, and sadly it seems there are many who signed up and then didn’t take part. Many others did, and when I’ve had a few moments I’ve taken a look at some of them.

There’s Vikki’s blog where she is taking a look at a different writer each day. The part of that I enjoy most is reading quotes from the writers, usually on what they have to say about writing itself.

There’s coffee rings everywhere, with a drabble a day, proving that stories don’t have to be long to be entertaining – or thought-provoking.

There’s Bridget Straub, who always brightens up her posts with great images.

There’s Bears Noting, with plenty of thought-provoking posts.

One that I found just the other day and had to hunt for again because I forgot to bookmark it is open-faced sandwich, which caught my attention with this quote: “That which we persist in doing becomes easier for us to do; not that the nature of the thing itself is changed, but that our power to do is increased.”  –RW Emerson.

There are more that I’ve read and enjoyed, that was just a short sample.

So what have I learned? I’ve learned that there are loads of people out there who enjoy writing, for a host of different reasons. They all write differently, but each blog is worth reading. Some offer entertainment, others something to ponder on.

The challenge itself is proving well paced, with enough guidance to prevent staring at the keyboard and enough flexibility to enable choice of topics. I started with a list of suggested topics for each day, and abandoned that at about C, when I found that each day thinking about the day’s letter would provide plenty of ideas. One or two I had planned in advance and stuck to, some I had planned but changed, once I thought of something brilliant the day before, forgot on the day and then remembered again at the last minute.

The knowledge that I’m doing the same challenge as hundreds of others is fun as well – to write my entry and then take a look at others. Sometimes we’ve chosen the same word for the letter; more often we’ve gone for something completely different.

I’m really enjoying the regular writing, and hope I’ll be able to keep it up after the challenge is over.

 

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Thank you for the kind mention, emmyleigh!

    Blessings and Bear hugs!
    Bears Noting

    Reply
  2. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I am glad to hear that you didn’t have your posts all planned out and done ahead of time. It makes me feel better knowing I’m not completely weird.

    Reply
  3. Awwwww, thanks for the mention honey 🙂

    Glad to hear youre enjoying the challenge!

    xx

    Reply
  4. This is my first time with the challenge, and I’m lost. Trying my hardest to finish…

    Reply
  5. It is hard keeping up with not only reading posts you normally read but adding in a few extra for the challenge

    Reply

Leave a Reply

