P is for Pensieve

pensieveRemember the pensieve? From Harry Potter, it looks like a shallow stone bowl filled with a silvery liquid. You can take your thoughts from your head and store them in a pensieve, meaning that you don’t have to carry them around with you all the time.

It sounds like a useful device – imagine dumping all your cares and being able to visit them when necessary but otherwise forget them.

Well I have the next best thing to a pensieve, and that’s my notebook. I can write down whatever I like, because no-one else reads it, and many is the time when by the end of a writing session I’ve figured out the next step to a problem, or felt better because I’ve got my thoughts clear.

It’s not quite capable of taking my thoughts and worries away completely, but I reckon it’s about as close as I’m likely to get!

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I hear you. I’ve recently started experimenting with daily pages, and it’s great for me to release some daily frustrations. Most days I do try to focus on my writing in them and what my goals are for my WIP, but some days that’s progressed more to a rant about another thing bothering me! It’s great to have that release. šŸ™‚ Thanks for the reminder to let it all out somewhere.

    Reply
  2. I need to find one of the pensieves! I think writing on my blog is as close as I come. It really helps to make things easier to deal with if you write about them.

    I am visiting with the A-Z Challenge. http://agutandabutt.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  3. This is a great post. We all need ways to deal with the stresses and frustrations of life.

    Blessings and Bear hugs!
    Bears Noting

    Reply

Leave a Reply

