N is for Negative Split

clockA negative split when running a race is when you run the second half of the race faster than the first half. I’m told it’s the ideal way to run a marathon – to hold back in the beginning when you feel strong and fresh, so you have extra in reserve when you start struggling part-way through.

It sounds hard: I know that in parkrun my first kilometre is always far faster than the rest, and I dread to think how slow I’d be if I didn’t get that fast section in – there’s the fear that having allowed myself to drop behind I would never catch up.

As I reach what may be the halfway point of my life, I keep thinking that I’ve left it too late to achieve anything of worth; surely if I were going to do anything marvellous I would have already done it, and there’s no point now in even trying.

Then I remember this information about a negative split, and I vow once again that my life is going to see a negative split: that I am going to make the second half of my life count for more than the first, and that there’s still plenty of time to really achieve something.

After all, of the runners ahead of me in parkrun, far too many of them are older than me as well as faster. And surely all the lessons I’ve learned so far in life are going to help me to do well for the rest of it. I just have to make sure that everything counts, and that I don’t allow myself to slack off when I’m still so far away from the finishing post*, but push on harder and stronger than ever.

*fully aware that this is the sort of statement that’s just asking for trouble, I’m touching wood and praying to the gods of irony that I’m allowed to get away with it 😉

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. healthiestbeauty

     /  April 16, 2013

    Reblogged this on The healthiest beauty.

    Reply
  2. healthiestbeauty

     /  April 16, 2013

    Reblogged this on The healthiest beauty.

    Reply
  3. I have never been able to understand why people run 😛
    Also, I’ll have to catch up with all your previous posts now, you write well and so, I’ve nominated you for an award 🙂
    http://effervescencia.blogspot.co.uk/2013/04/liebster-award.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

