E is for Effort

The letter EIt’s a fact in this life that unless you put effort in you get nothing out. Sadly as much as I sit around wishing, that won’t get me anywhere. I want to be able to run long distances, but that won’t happen unless I go out and actually train. I want to be able to write, but unless I actually practise my writing I’m not going to wake up one day and be ready to write a novel. I want to be able to create my own programs easily, but unless I actually work on it, I’ll not get there.

So the secret is simple: to find something that you enjoy doing, Preferably something that you’re reasonably good at and want to become better at. And then keep making the effort.

It’s about doing, in the end, not about achieving. Because the achieving doesn’t exist without the doing. I went to the gym yesterday. It was a real effort to go, but I had a strong feeling that if I didn’t make that effort it would be harder and harder to do it. All the way through my run I was promising myself chocolate as a reward for actually going and running. When I finished I went to the supermarket – and bought fruit, because I came to the conclusion that there has to be effort, and it has to come from me.

 

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. So many areas of our lives would work out if we just put in that effort. Good post!

    Reply
  2. So true. Effort is hard, but makes things worth it. I need to put more effort into several areas of my life.

    Reply
  3. Ahhh! You’ve touched on something here that I have struggled with. How can I find success with my writing if I’m not fully committed to it? I can’t! Simple as that! Thanks for the reminder and greetings from Texas. ‘Tate’s Other Side’

    Reply

Leave a Reply

