D is for Downton Abbey

The letter DWhen I’m working at my desk I have a habit of having something to watch on the second screen, and my latest find is Downton Abbey – I hadn’t realised just how entertaining it was. It’s also thought provoking. If there’s anyone out there who hasn’t discovered it yet, it’s about an English estate, set 100 years ago. There are many things I’m learning from this series, on every level.

On the writing side, since I’ve already watched the earliest episodes twice I can see there’s foreshadowing of many plotlines in early episodes that are fairly inconsequential until they’re addressed fully in later episodes. It’s also intriguing to see how the different relationships are built and shown.

On the social side, it’s interesting to see there are good people and bad people in all classes of life and at all levels. It pays to be nice to people, because you never know whether that person you’re being nasty to holds your fate in their hands. Generally, what goes around comes around, and good triumphs, although that doesn’t prevent me from feeling the tension when some characters are at stake. There’s also the issue that people are not all bad or all good, which I hope is developed more, because one-sided characters become dull and predictable.

It’s also interesting to watch it considering the news that’s been published this week about the new classes in society. One aspect of the story is that a young lawyer is thrust into the life of Downton with the prospect of inheriting it (thanks, O level English study of Pride and Prejudice for the knowledge of what entail means).  A conversation persuades him that everyone has a part to play, and that just because he feels he doesn’t need a valet, why does that give him the right to refuse his valet the chance to do his job? In a world where everyone seems out to pay the least they can get away with, for the most they can get, I found it a refreshing reminder that if all have their part to play, both in paying for services and in offering services, the world goes more smoothly. Maybe a little less attention to bottom line profits and more attention to giving as well as taking will improve life all round.

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Good luck with the A to Z challenge 🙂

    Reply
  2. I love this show, though I still haven’t seen season three. Not only is it entertaining, but there’s a lot we can learn from it. I hadn’t seen the article/calculator on classes, but I think it’s good to think about, even though I’m an American and not British, a lot of the same things apply.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

