Jumping in with both feet?

Why is it that I can’t do things in half measures?  I just managed to run 5k without a walking break, then I hear from parkrun that if I run every week for the rest of the year (about another 5 weeks) I’m in for a chance to win a place in the London marathon (along with 17,000 others so far!) and I’m now looking at marathon training routines.  Just out of interest, of course 😉

I’d like to think I could do a marathon.  Maybe not next year, but maybe the year after.  Next year I’ll head for a 10k, I think.  Or maybe even a half marathon.  10k in the spring, half marathon in the summer/autumn?

It’s the training time that worries me, when thinking of a marathon.  I’m making time for the gym two evenings a week and parkrun on Saturday mornings, plus occasionally gym again on Sunday, because I feel it’s important for my mental and physical health to set that time aside, but the idea of giving up an hour every day and longer at weekends is a little scary.

But then again, it’s the sort of time I’ll sit in front of the tv for at the moment…

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

