So what?

Found this in my drafts folder, dating back to the end of last year.  Ah well, about time I published it, I guess!  

I’ve spent a lot of time and money gathering things related to creativity.  What I haven’t done is actually spend a lot of time being creative.  It comes in fits and starts; sometimes I’ll be really active, and sometimes I’ll do nothing for months on end.

There was a point where I was doing a lot of writing, and publishing it on the web.  There were a few occasions when I did art courses.  Each time I enjoy what I do and vow to do more, but each time it fades away again.

So it’s time to decide what I actually want to achieve, and how.  Because there’s less and less time to prevaricate; every day spent avoiding making a decision and avoiding being creative is a day lost.

What do I want to achieve?  Well I have to admit that I’m unlikely to become a published author.  There are far too many around already, some of them less then brilliant but still publishing stuff.  I’m not sure there’s room for yet another.  Although I guess one more wouldn’t make much difference 🙂

I’m also unlikely to become a brilliant artist.  I can draw a little, and I can paint a little, but still it’s for my own enjoyment rather than for other people.

I’m also unlikely to create a best-selling computer game, which is the other activity that I toy with at times.  I enjoy the challenge of programming, the struggle to work out what is supposed to happen and why it’s going wrong, then the buzz when suddenly you figure it out and everything goes right.

I guess that’s the real secret for creativity – you have to do it on your own account, not for others.  Then maybe, if you put enough into it, and enjoy it enough, others may appreciate your work too.

But the main motivator has to be enjoyment for the sake of the activity, and not focusing on the end result.

So what do I do about it?  I need to make sure I spend time being creative, using up all these materials I’ve been gathering, and not worry about whether what I make is good enough. I need to recognise what I do enjoy doing and let go of those things that I’ve got “just in case” but are less interested in, because they’re taking time and energy from the better things.  I need to allow myself to make bad things in the knowledge that if I can recognise them as bad I will eventually be able to improve and do better.  And I need to stop wasting time doing dead-end things.

I guess another way is to use my creativity in my work – rather than going for the bare essentials, to start thinking more creatively, putting a little more effort into the design and layout, and showing creativity in action.  Because it makes me sad to see kids whose idea of fun is to mindlessly chat and play games, rather than actively work at creating things.   And that could be my cue to actually go and do something more useful 😉

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I totally agree! I write for myself….but, there’s a tiny part of me that thinks, maybe 😉

    Good luck hon, yes, set time aside for YOU 🙂

    Now, when are we meeting up for a coffee?

    Xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

