How not to write?

a blog a day...I think at this rate I’d better start calling this blog 101 reasons for not writing…

It’s strange, but I discovered this before.  Try to write one blog entry per day and I really struggle.  Allow myself to write as the mood takes me, and I end up blogging far more regularly.

One thing I do resent about being in the teaching profession is the way that free time seems to be either far too much or far too little – it’s too hard to get into proper routines.  I need to get over this, because I really don’t think it’s good for me to swing wildly from intensive term time to do nothing holiday time and then back.

I really do need to get into a regular writing routine.  And exercise.  And housework.  In fact, I need to figure out a way to break out of this passive mode and start taking control of things.  Maybe if I can do it in my writing first that will leak over into real life – you reckon?

I draw regularly now, thanks to drawsome.  I’m in the habit of drawing early in the morning, and if I’m around in the evenings I’ll usually do a round then if there’s games to do.  It’s become a natural part of winding down or preparing for the morning.  That’s what I’d like for my writing too.  I used to write regularly every morning, but it was only me complaining about issues of the day, not particularly constructive apart possibly from setting me up for the day.  Now I tend to choose reading rather than writing, but I’m beginning to feel my priorities need to switch.  I read in Emma Darwin’s blog about the point where writers start to take writing more seriously, to give up time to write as a regular thing rather than to treat it as a way to unwind, and I think I need to force myself towards that point.  Otherwise I’m going to keep resenting that other people get published and find time to write regularly and have confidence in their writing…

The story ideas are flooding at the moment, or maybe I’m just noticing them more.  But unless I flatter them, take notice of them and start acting on them they’ll fade away again.  One more week and a couple of days until we break up for summer.  I need to use that time to get into a regular routine, one that I can maintain.  I don’t want to waste all my free time, I want to make best use of it.  Part of that needs to be a writing routine, housework routine and work routine – there’s too much I want to do with work to ignore it all.

I want to get to the point where I can’t imagine not writing regularly, just as I want to get to that point with running, and I’m already that way with drawing.  But that will take effort.  The big question is: Am I prepared to make that effort?  Answers on the back of a five pound note please…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. That’s exactly why I do the writing prompts, because it MAKES me write every day. It’s so easy to find other things to do, any excuse not to write yeah 😉

    Good luck xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

