Ground to a halt

It seems I just don’t have the mental energy or focus for writing just now. I guess it was a bit much to go from writing nothing for years to churning out 2000 words a day. I have to know my characters and where they’re going. I’d go as far as to say I have to be in love with my characters and care about them deeply in order to spend that much time and energy on them.

It’s been a long time now since I’ve felt that sort of passion in any way that I can put on paper. I need to get back to that. But I’m trying to do it with characters I’ve created myself, rather than playing with those who already exist.

As to finding others to fall in love with – that isn’t a real option at the moment either, it seems.  I usually fixate on a TV series, but there seems too little around at the moment on TV, and I have too little time to watch anyway.  Work is taking up most of my focus, and it leaves me drained.

Still, I feel a need to have a creative outlet in my life.  I’m enjoying my portrait class, which I realised is already halfway through.  But somehow I need to leave the house for it.  I just can’t force myself to do something like that at home, even though I know I’d enjoy it – there’s too much else around.

So I’m left with trying to invent a character to fall in love with.  And a situation to put him in.  And a plot to build around that.  Maybe when I’ve done all that I can get to writing properly.  In the meantime – it’s not enough just to sit and wait until inspiration strikes.  So I@m going to try working my way through one or two writing exercises, in order to keep up at least the spirit of nanowrimo.

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

