First Post – Alice

leatherbound journalWe read in school last week about Anne Frank.  How she called her diary Kitty.  What a silly name for a diary. Who needs to name a diary anyway?

But still – Kitty was the only way she could put down how she was feeling.  It must have been tough for her, growing up in that annexe.

At least she had someone to tell her troubles to, though, even though it was only a notebook.  I wish I had someone.

You see, I’ve always been alone, all my life, it seems.  We moved around a lot, so I never had a chance to make many friends.  Dad was always working, Mum was kinda busy, and I was usually left to entertain myself.

It’s never really bothered me.  In fact, it’s what I’ve preferred, so far.  But now – I could really do with someone to talk to.  And there’s no-one.  No-one I can trust enough with my secret.  And now – yeah, it bothers me.  It bothers me a lot.

So this brand new notebook that’s been too nice to spoil by actually using? Well now I’m gonna be using it.  At least writing things down gets them straighter in my head.  And God knows I need to think straight right now.  I need to figure out what I’m gonna do.  And I need to figure out real fast, before it’s too late.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

